The OSPAR Convention

The OSPAR Convention is the current legal instrument guiding international cooperation on the protection of the marine environment of the North-East Atlantic. Work under the Convention is managed by the OSPAR Commission, made up of representatives of the Governments of 15 Contracting Parties and the European Commission, representing the European Union.


The 15 Governments represented at OSPAR are those of Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and United Kingdom. These are the countries of the western coasts and catchments of Europe.


The EBA has Observer Status to OSPAR and as such is welcome to attend any of the meetings and engage in discussions.


More information can be found at

Click here for the Summary Records of OSPAR Commission meetings and dates for future meetings